Week 14: Picture Books for Adults

Hey Everyone,

I didn’t have a huge amount of time to read this week, and I have not been having luck with audio-books, but I did want to share two smaller books with you this week. As you might be able to tell from the title, both are illustrated, and contain beautiful artwork. I enjoy illustrations in books, even when they are little chapter blurbs, like in the Harry Potter books (some of my favorites are below), The books I read this week take this further, but are beautiful examples of their particular art form.

 

Books I finished this week

The Wandering Goose – written by Heather L Earnhardt, illustrated by Frida Clements

51Y1ivC2v2L._SX341_BO1,204,203,200_

This book is a very little book, but it packs a punch. It is a lyrical story about two animals that looks at friendship, love, loss and broken hearts, and it is beautiful, both in the writing and the illustrations. It is written by a woman who owns and runs a restaurant in Seattle also called The Wandering Goose, but you don’t need any background on this connection to appreciate the small quiet beauty of this book. Frida Clements does the illustrations, and is a Seattle-based artist whose work you may have seen elsewhere (her work is exquisite, and you can find more of it on her website here.)

I consider this to be a picture book for adults for a few reasons. One is that the themes of the book are rather adult, and while kids could enjoy it, the story is an adult one. Secondly, the illustrations are artistic in a way that can be appreciated as art as well as story. Each spread could almost be a print you might have framed in your home, writing and all, and I feel like that is a more adult approach to illustration.

Pages-from-WanderingGoose.jpg

 

1001 by Sanya Anwar (comic book series)

Untitled.jpeg

I know comic books appeal to very few people, but I have recently started to appreciate them more, and I love it when I find beautifully illustrated stories that tell me as much is not more through the images as they do through the words. This series, as far as I have been able to read, does this extraordinarily well.

1001 is a retelling of The Arabian Nights that casts the heroine Scherezade as a bookish, dreamy young woman trying to make a life for herself and her sister. The illustrations are incredibly vivid and beautiful, and the story is usually easy to follow. There is some mystery that has yet to be explained, and unfortunately, Sanya Anwar’s website says that the 4th installment was supposed to be released about 2 years ago, so I am hoping so badly that is it not on hold indefinitely.

These comics are also available for free on Anwar’s website, and I would encourage you to check out her work. I can’t recommend these comics to new comic readers simply because the series is not complete and it is never fun to get partway into the story and have to stop. However, if you are interested in these anyway, or want to see some beautiful art, I would still encourage you to check these out.

Scherezade

What went well

I have building my TBR list up this week, and getting excited about a lot of new books. This hasn’t translated into a lot of reading, but I hope to carve out more time this week, although 4th of July is one of the busier times of the summer so I’m not super optimistic.

What did not go well

Maybe I’m still recovering from The Book of Joan, but I have had a hard time getting myself to read this week. It also feels like my reading time has been very fragmented recently, and that always makes it tough to get going on a new book. I think it is just one of those weeks though.

What I am reading next week

So many things. I am still finishing the book about Victorian England I started last week, and hoping I find another good audio-book. I’m also looking forward to reading The Wanderers by Meg Howrey and The Windfall by Diksha Basu.

Leave a Reply

