First Quarter Update: Favorite Books and Pie Charts

This week marks the end of the first three months of this project, meaning that I am a quarter of the way into my year. The last three months have been full of some pretty big life transitions, and having this blog has been a huge anchor point for me. I am so grateful to everyone who has been supportive of this, and all the kind words I have heard, both in person and through the grapevine. I still have a hard time imagining that people are actually reading what I write here!

For this quarterly update, I looked at my book breakdown by gender, racial background and nationality. Over 50% of the books I read were by white authors and American authors, although that includes authors of mixed nationalities (for instance, Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi counts as American because she is Ghanaian-American. I don’t want to set myself percentage targets, but I will be looking at this over the next few months.

I also picked my favorite audio-book and book favorites from the last few months. I have such a hard time picking, because I read so many amazing books, but these two stand out from the pack. You can find those picks below!


 

Reading Statistics

Books Read: 31

Books By Gender:

Books by Gender

 

Books By Racial Background:

2.jpg

 

Books by Nationality:

 

3.jpg


 

Favorite Books

Audio-book

Winner: News of the World by Paulette Jiles

news_of_the_world_composite

This book stood out because of the incredible match between narrator and writing. The listening experience was simply beautiful and I loved the book as well.

Runner Up: Under the Udala Trees by Chinelo Okparanta

Physical Book

Winner: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

lee-min-jin-pachinko-collage-1-cover

Pachinko is one of the few books I have read recently that actually made me cry. I picked it as a favorite because of its emotional impact and the fact that I developed such a strong affection for the Lee’s complex, sympathetic characters.

Runner Up: Sofia Khan Is Not Obliged by Ayisha Malik

Hope you all have a good week, I’ll be back Monday!

3 thoughts on “First Quarter Update: Favorite Books and Pie Charts

  1. Hi Emma,

    I enjoy your comments and have put several books on my To Be Read List. I hope that you are submitting reviews on Amazon. Authors need positive reviews to help sell books.

    Thanks, Jan Crossen

    Like

    1. Thanks Jan!

      I actually post my reviews on goodreads or indiebound instead of Amazon to support independent bookstores! However you are right, authors do need people out there reviewing books, especially one they have been out for a year or so.

      Like

Leave a Reply

