Week 7: Happy Mother’s Day and no time to read!

Happy Mother’s Day to all mother’s out there, especially my own wonderful mother!

I knew it would be hard to keep up this blog AND work 40 hours a week, and I am finding it as hard as I expected. So with that being said, I can only report finishing one book – although I am ALMOST done with another, so I am going to include it. Thanks so much for the recommendations – I really appreciate them.

Books I finished this week:

Ann Cleeves

Red Bones by Ann Cleeves (on audio-book)

This book was a good continuation of the Shetland series. I really do love these books, and I really enjoyed this one as well. I think these books are not necessarily meant for binge listening, and knowing a little something about the upcoming book, I’m not sure I’m ready jump in. These were great books for a transition period however, because they are good stories, but didn’t take a lot of extra brain power.

Isabel_Bassett_Wasson.jpeg

Women in Wonderland: Lives, Legends and Legacies of Yellowstone National Park by Elizabeth A Watry

This is the book I am working on at the moment, and I am liking it. The author is a great historian, but I don’t know if she is the best author. The book chronicles the stories of women who have played a part in the founding, establishment and development of Yellowstone, the park service and the towns and people who make their lives in and around the park.

What I like about it is that the history is well researched, and I have learned a lot about the park itself through these stories.

What I don’t love about it is the fact that these women’s lives were still so often defined by the men in their lives. I’m not sure if this is because the historical documents available are mostly focused on men, or if it is a product of the times, or if it is just a fact of life, but it is hard for me to read and not be a little taken aback.

What went well: Even though I didn’t read all that much, I still feel like I had good conversations about this project. I enjoyed the contrast between the two books I read, and I am definitely still enjoying my audio-book streak.

Also, I signed up for a personalized recommendation from Sarah’s Bookshelves, and I was really happy with my picks (I will talk more about this later this week hopefully)

What didn’t go well: I just wish I had found more time to read.

What I am reading next week: Next week, I will be reading The Woman Next Door by Yewande Omotoso, and hopefully getting to some of the natural history books I mentioned a few weeks ago, like Finding Beauty in a Broken World by Terry Tempest Williams or Gathering Moss by Robin Wall Kimmerer

One thought on “Week 7: Happy Mother’s Day and no time to read!

Leave a Reply

