Week 1

So I have a confession to make. One week in and I have already broken my rule. I was on vacation. I wasn’t thinking. And the next book on my kindle I was interested in was a novella in The Expanse series by James S.A. Corey (the pen name for TWO white men who write together). It makes me sad because I also realized that I am in the middle of Cibola Burn, another of their books, and I am not sure I get to finish it. I’m not sure I’m ready to announce a token white guy yet.

This example signals to me that this is going to be a LOT harder then I had originally thought. With that being said, here is what I read and finished over this week:

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen (the one Austen novel I had never read)

The Butcher of Anderson Station, The Gods of Risk and The Churn by James A. S. Corey*

Enchanted Islands by Allison Amend

The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry

Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens

What went well: I picked up a classic by a women I had been meaning to read, and read The Essex Serpent, a really good book I think I will remember for a while. I needed a break from the heavy stuff I have been reading, and was able to read some relaxing beach reads.

What didn’t go well: Looking at this list it is still really white. And I read three short novellas that broke my rule. I am giving myself a bit of a break because it was my first week and because I was on vacation, but I am still a little disappointed in myself.

Next week:

Thee are so many good books that I have been meaning to read! I just graduated and am in a reading frenzy now that I can read fiction without feeling guilty. A few of the potential books I might crack open this week are: Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue, Pachinko by Min Jin Lee, American War by Omar El Akkad and Exit West by Mohsin Hamid.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Week 1

  1. Wow, thanks Emma!! This is really interesting. I am looking forward to your updates and thinking about your project. Especially since my week has been reading Jane Eyre (for the first time) and then seeing “I Am Not Your Negro”…big contrasts!!! And as you know, James Baldwin did a good job of enlightening his readers to all that we so commonly do not see in our world, which includes how much of our “go to” entertainment or diversionary sources are WM dominated. Lots to think about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

